My first impression

Standard

I’m really late on this, I know. Those who have been following me for a while might have seen a pattern in which I tried to go in order of my travels & I really hyped up my India trip last year….yetwhereisthatpost???

I feel like I have a lot to say about India and my thoughts (therefore my posts) will be sporadic on the motherland. I told you about my journey but incase you forgot or if you are a new subscriber since that post was like from September – here is the link:

https://karenskaleidoscope.wordpress.com/2015/10/21/my-first-encounter-of-my-mothers-land/

So yeah – to continue – I finally step outside into beautiful Chandigarh! —-wait, wait, wait — I don’t think I mentioned this before —before I went to India, I obviously had 10874967 different impressions going through my head, and speaking to people who regularly go to India trying to alter my impression was not something I was trying to do – especially since they go to other parts. There is a movie (Punjabi) that I grew up watching (well, not really, but it was always in the background – and my mom used to play the songs as she cooked hahah ❤ ) I told 2 friends that if Punjab does not look like the following song from that movie I’m gonna be all upset. Friend A was like “yeah yeah it will!!!! Totally!!!!” so that was excitinggg to hear even though he hasn’t been to India for like 10 years. Friend B, who also hasn’t been to India since the 90’s was more like “yeah good luck with that” – BOO!! I know, you are like “show the song already” — this is the song:

Yup – it’s old school! But that’s what I love about India. The culture is so rich. Preserve it. I was happy that at least in Chandigarh it was still pretty traditional.

I found an interesting observation was the news. My family would sit down for meals and discuss some politician who was the topic of town. We couldn’t go into Chandigarh for a few days because there were supposedly riots going on due to this fella. At the same time, those moments when the wifi worked, news back here in the US was about the black kid in Chicago who got shot by the white cop in Chicago. It was so weird how the place I was at was talking with such intensity on the issue going on in their world, while the world I am from were discussing a totally different issue and both my worlds were clueless of the other issue. That’s one to remind you that the world isn’t as small as we seem to think it is!

India is so colorful! Its so animated. At my Bhua ji’s house (Aunt – my fathers baby sister) it was like I would be sitting there and all the sudden some vibrant Bollywood song would start playing?!?!?? I’m like what’s going on??? That was basically her doorbell (OMG AWESOME IDEA I WANT A DOORBELL THAT PLAYS CHUNES!!!!) She ran out and grabbed me & she’s like “ohhhh aa ke dekh, sabji waala agaya, you vill fun” (“ohhhh come look! The vegetable man is here!! It’s fun to watch) then came the milk man & the newspaper man!! It was cool how sleepy the afternoons are and then you hear the vegetable guy in his rickshaw screaming in the street so people know he’s there. Kinda like the ice cream man here, sorta!

The reason I went to India with my parents was because I knew this was going to be the one and only time for them to show me our homeland, our family, our home, where we came from. I met family who I never even knew existed, as well as family I saw after many, many years. Now I am so close with them all and it’s soo nice!! That unconditional love you only get from your family is a priceless feeling. It’s nice to know I have a home there (a few actually) that I can go to whenever I tell them my bags are packed, I’m coming.

My next several India posts will be pictorial. The story behind the pics will be in my captions. Watch this space…to be continued…I promise I will post about India (even though I have a new vacation coming up in a few weeks!!!) but for now, here are some random pics:

10421195_10105480884365730_8133519028227249905_n

These women are BOSS!!!

10850313_10105480884355750_5502931399055139254_n

10868285_10105490863702060_424738900600197234_n

I thought the other women were boss but this lady is the BOSS of BOSS. She’s carrying that thing on her head WITH NO HANDS!!!

pic

Goat Herder in the pindh!! It’s like are we in India or Afghanistan?? And what century?? #ilovethisimagesoooomuch #idonotbelongintodaysdayandage

 

hanuman

—My family told me they were taking me for a drive…then surprised me and took this amazing Hanuman temple!!!

10150663_10105480557959850_5987014481087437861_n

Pretty regularly my family goes to a specific school/shelter for abandoned girls and serves them lunch. These are some of the amazing young ladies.

10846051_10105480568838050_5350363024285649959_n

This is how traffic gets jammed in the pindh

 My boyfraaanndd, Arun 🙂

10801830_10105490864121220_1414414434915946152_n

This random cute kid tried to steal me away from Arun by putting on a show. Such a stud!! I almost fell for it buuuuut what can I do! I’m loyal lol

1237558_10105490847250030_2331667314519943390_n

This girl had soo much spunk!!! Don’t mess with Nargis!!

 

10403505_10105490929260680_8866803505824730087_n

at a wedding with my cousin sister

 

Hookah Night with my baby nephew! He tried explaining to me how hookah was invented in the villages of Haryana…….LOL

About kbahri114

Hi! I'm an outgoing, bubbly New Yorker of Indian origin. I grew up in a Punjabi home and was raised with Hindu traditions in America. I am extremely in touch with my Indian roots and am thankful to have had been taught about my culture while growing up, which is why I have a great appreciation towards my culture and like to share it with others as well as learn about different cultures. At one point in my life I came to the realization about how we have been blessed with the gift of life on the planet earth. When I'm 90 years old lying on my death bed looking back at my life, I want to make sure I took full advantage of my life and explored this amazing world we live in! I knew traveling was something I had to start doing. I'm not the type to live in a bubble my entire life. I've always been intrigued by the world and different cultures. I have always wanted to explore and see as much of the world as I can! Life is all about experiences, meeting people, learning new ways and concepts and taking risks. I'm also very fond of photography, fashion, shopping, having fun, being loud, laughing and cracking crazy jokes, music and dance (I used to dance traditional for festivals back during the school days). This blog is meant to be fun & entertaining but it also provides my personal experiences and what you might expect to discover while traveling. It also will include random thoughts and stories since a kaleidoscope is meant to be a colorfully shaken mix of happiness! I hope you find my blog interesting, fun, funny & informative, but most of all entertaining!!

Leave a Reply

