It’s Halloween in the City!

Standard
It’s Halloween in the City!

1931063_757173087040_8026_n1931063_757166390460_6074_n

No city does Halloween like New York City! HANDS DOWN! Halloween was invented (yes, invented) FOR the city of New York. And New York was designed for Halloween. New York’s Greenwich Village Halloween Parade is by far the largest city-wide Halloween event in NYC. Nothing you will ever see in your life is crazier!!! (here is the official link https://www.halloween-nyc.com/  ) I mean I guess elsewhere in the country and maybe the world, Halloween is meant for kids. I think its fair to say kids should be banned from Halloween in New York!!! hahahha (That laugh was evil)

It’s also safe to say that I’ve definitely had more fun hanging out on the streets than an actually party/club. The bars/lounges get sooo packed you cant even breathe!! And to spend a ridiculous amount for JUST the entry fee just to get annoyed because its so crowded you cant breathe – no. My first Halloween in the city we went to my friends party at a bar in Union Square (after the parade, of course) and then as we were “heading out” we found a drum circle in the middle of Union Square and started dancing in the street! So much fun!! This is the best holiday ever!! I think at this stage in life, I’m lazy to go all out with the costumes – but some people are soo create and original! As long as I have some ears or a mask of some sort and some glitter I’m good.

If you are planning a trip to New York and are open minded and not scared of witnessing craziness and the oddest of odd, Halloween is the BEST time to be here! Head downtown to the village for probably the craziest of them all! I will warn you though, the parade can get extremely packed. If you are claustrophobic, maybe you should reconsider lol. I’ve been stuck in the crowd many a times. I also remember one year my friends were on the other side of the street and the police wouldn’t let us cross over to meet them, so you have to be prepared for these things. Another year I was caught in a crowd unable to breathe or see any of the parade (btw never once that I have attended the parade was I actually ever able to like..you know..SEE the parade!! Its too crowded you cant get a good view.) and then some idiot decided to start a fight…omg..I still remember how awful that was!!! I think the best thing to do is be CLOSE to the parade but FAR enough that you don’t get killed lol.

Your guide to Halloween in NYC

Another year I worked a party that was hosted by Kim Kardashian.

Kim Kardashian dressed as Poison Ivy at Lavo

Kim Kardashian dressed as Poison Ivy at Lavo

Celeb spottings - Kim Kardashian on Halloween

Celeb spottings – Kim Kardashian on Halloween

My mask that year

My mask that year

Another fun, memorable Halloween was 2008! That was probably the last year I went alllll out with my costume!

1931063_757173421370_9514_n

I'm clearly in my zone!Ohhh the good ol' days!

I’m clearly in my zone! Ohhh the good ol’ days!

Here are some more photos from the Halloween parade a few years ago:

33465_10100352205304680_3096299_n 40758_10100352223298620_3137120_n 71728_10100352200778750_7530987_n 75136_10100352188084190_1482569_n 76377_10100352202565170_2765782_n

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!!!

About kbahri114

Hi! I'm a luxury lifestyle blogger from New York City. I have Indian roots - to get into that further, I grew up in a Punjabi home and was raised with Hindu traditions in America. I am extremely in touch with my culture thankfully, which is why I have a great appreciation towards all cultures of the world! We have been blessed with the gift of life on the planet earth. When I'm 90 years old lying on my death bed looking back at my life, I want to make sure I took full advantage of this beautiful life I was blessed with. I want to explore as much of this amazing world we live in and live life to the fullest! I knew traveling was something I had to start doing and will continue to do. I've always been intrigued by the world and different cultures. I have always wanted to explore and see as much of the world as I can! Life is all about experiences, meeting people, learning new ways and concepts and taking risks. This blog is meant to be fun & entertaining but it also provides my personal experiences and what you might expect to discover while traveling. It also will include fashion and beauty posts as well as random thoughts and stories, since a kaleidoscope is meant to be a colorfully shaken mix of entertainment! I hope you find my blog interesting, fun, funny & informative, but most of all entertaining!!

Leave a Reply

