Trips within Trips!

Standard

So in my last blog entry, I mentioned my secret (well, not so much anymore!) idea of scoring a mini trip (otherwise known as extra long layover) on your way to your destination. I’ve done this twice now and I love it! It’s challenging in a fun way and I seemto spend a lot more time trying to plan out the 6ish or whatever hours I have on the layover trip than the actual trip!

Sometimes this idea doesn’t turn out as well as planned, other times it’s fabulous! I’ve dealt with both lol. On the two times I’ve done this!! So the first time, I was taking a weird flight to the UK and it stopped in Istanbul for I think 7-8 hours or something. I know, stop making that face! It was a cheap flight and I didn’t mind bc I’ve always wanted to go to Turkey!!! Now this layover was sooooo difficult to plan because there are SOOO many amazing places to see in Istanbul that when you are short on time and have to pick ONE bloody spot…ughhhhhhh!!!! I can’t!!!! And I’m seriously the most indecisive human being on this planet!!!!! I had a coworker who was Turkish so I asked her if there was maybe like a “suburb” that was close to the airport so I wouldn’t get stuck in traffic as everyone kept warning me about. She suggested her old neighborhood called ” Yesilkoy”. So I figured why not! It’s a local area & it would be cool to go to a complete local spot and get a feel for “real” Turkish life.

I did hardcore research on this place and found a coffee shop that looked nice that I figured if anything, I could sit there and people watch if I felt I would get lost walking around.

So now let’s fast forward to d-day! When I arrived in Turkey it was veryyy early a.m. I think like 5 am. The Istanbul airport is huge and extremely confusing!!! On top of that NOBODY SPEAKS ENGLISH!!! I also remember waiting a rediculous and unnecessary amount of time to exchange currency at the desk – which was painful because the rude lady didn’t speak English either.

Anyways, I got in a cab and I remember how beautiful Turkey looked from that cab ride! The ride was short and he dropped me off on some crooked road with not much around. To make a long story short, this Yesilkoy place was TINY. I took a little walk around. I guess it rained overnight because everything was damp. It was so early all the shops were closed too. I found a pier/harbor type area on the back end and walked around. I was soo done after about 20 minutes!!! I waited a bit though as I noticed shops were opening. The shops were cute. Streets were small and narrow and so were all the shops lol. There was a market/ grocery store that had opened, so I thought I would check it out as it’s usually fun going inside foreign grocery stores and seeing Mexican Cheerioes. All I remember is it was superrrr awkward!! They were still doing their morning set up and I was in the way…like everywhere I moved in that store!!! I was still in the way!!!! UURGHH! So I got back into a cab disappointed and just went back to the airport.

I’ll tell ya one thing though, I’m glad I did because as I mentioned earlier, that airport is super confusing, it took me 45 mins to figure out how to get past security!! Nobody could help me. Not a bloke spoke English and I couldn’t find an information desk!!! I have never cursed so much while traveling!! Omg!! I finally got on the other side and stayed put lol. I def want to go back and visit Turkey properly, and I willl! My experience sucked but it still was nice and I’m sure next time when I go I will have a better time! This was actually the first time traveling to a foreign country all alone and I am proud of myself for that! I did manage to grab some photos though. I can’t seem to find these funny pics of all the dogs sleeping on the street! Aahhh well! Take a look:

imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimage

So my other “trip within a trip” was discussed in my previous blog. Abu Dhabi!! That was success. Abu Dhabi was soo clean, so gorgeous, didn’t feel as foreign as Istanbul did, as weird as that sounds! Here are a few pics from that trip within a trip. YES there are way too many pics. NO, I can’t help myself πŸ™‚ you will soon discover I am a picoholic πŸ™‚ in fact, message me directly if you would like to see more photos. I took tons from the Grand Mosque. It’s just tedious to upload on here!

FB_IMG_1445224196227FB_IMG_1445224202852 FB_IMG_1445224211578FB_IMG_1445224216731FB_IMG_1445224220838FB_IMG_1445224231074FB_IMG_1445224244653FB_IMG_1445224265218FB_IMG_1445224313304FB_IMG_1445224238388FB_IMG_1445224256855FB_IMG_1445224302336FB_IMG_1445224275141FB_IMG_1445224356124FB_IMG_1445224296433FB_IMG_1445224320035FB_IMG_1445224346879

About kbahri114

Hi! I'm a luxury lifestyle blogger from New York City. I have Indian roots - to get into that further, I grew up in a Punjabi home and was raised with Hindu traditions in America. I am extremely in touch with my culture thankfully, which is why I have a great appreciation towards all cultures of the world! We have been blessed with the gift of life on the planet earth. When I'm 90 years old lying on my death bed looking back at my life, I want to make sure I took full advantage of this beautiful life I was blessed with. I want to explore as much of this amazing world we live in and live life to the fullest! I knew traveling was something I had to start doing and will continue to do. I've always been intrigued by the world and different cultures. I have always wanted to explore and see as much of the world as I can! Life is all about experiences, meeting people, learning new ways and concepts and taking risks. This blog is meant to be fun & entertaining but it also provides my personal experiences and what you might expect to discover while traveling. It also will include fashion and beauty posts as well as random thoughts and stories, since a kaleidoscope is meant to be a colorfully shaken mix of entertainment! I hope you find my blog interesting, fun, funny & informative, but most of all entertaining!!

Leave a Reply

